What a Great First Day:


What a great first day of school!  Thank you for sharing your wonderful children with us. It was great to visit classrooms and see happy and excited students. 

Procedures:

The majority of the day focused upon learning and practicing school procedures.  We spent a great deal of time demonstrating appropriate behaviors in all school settings.  We will continue to revisit procedures for the first two weeks of the school year.  Amelia Elementary students take pride in positive school behavior.   Our school Oath is: I am an Amelia Tiger. Amelia Tigers are Respectful, Responsible and Safe. When students make appropriate or poor decisions regarding school behavior, we reference the school oath as a teaching tool.   Feel free to use the Tiger Oath at home in order to reinforce the concept. 

Dismissal:

Thank you for being patient with us this afternoon at dismissal.  I am very pleased with how the school day ended.  The last child was loaded into their car at 3:35.  I anticipate reducing this time by 10 minutes during the remainder of the week.  It takes a few days for students to become familiar with the procedures.  I need your help in order to keep the dismissal lines moving as quickly as possible.  It is very important that you line up in your designated pick-up area.  I have students waiting in either the gym or cafeteria based upon the assignment given to you when tags were picked up last week.  If you are not at the right location, we have to run to the other space to get your child… this slows the whole process down.  If you are confused about where your location is, feel free to email me at walker_s2@westcler.org and I will let you know what I have in the database.  I know that this is very confusing… I apologize.  We will get things running smoothly within the next few days with all of us working together.  I may not say it enough, but I appreciate you and your continued support!

I can’t wait to see what tomorrow brings!  As always, if you need anything do not hesitate to contact me.