Welcome to the 2012-13 School Year:

2nd Grade Mrs. Walker:

I remember as a child finding it difficult to fall sleep the night before the first day of school. There were so many things to wonder about… Will I find my classroom? Will my teacher be nice?  Will I be able to sit by my best friend?

I anticipate that many of you will be experiencing the same feelings tonight. No worries though, I am certain that tomorrow will bring lots of fun and excitement. My secret is that I still get excited many years later during each new school year. I can’t wait to see all of my amazing Amelia Tigers tomorrow morning!

 

Just a few pointers to help tomorrow run smoothly:

  • Arrival will begin at 8:45 AM. Please do NOT drop your children off before this time. This year, teachers will not directly open car doors in the morning.  A staff member will be in both front and back drop-off areas to supervise arrival.  Students will open the door and exit the car on the passenger side.  Please be careful, cell phones turned off, and be aware of your surroundings.  Wait for my staff member to be on duty before releasing your children out of cars. This is to ensure that everyone is safe.
  • The afternoon dismissal will stay exactly the same as last school year.  Be very patient.  I expect that the first day will be SLOW.  It takes a few days to train students to look and listen for their tag name & numbers.  This being said, I believe that we are in a much better place than last year’s one hour dismissal on the first day of school.  It is vital that parents listen and follow the directives of my staff during arrival and dismissal.  Keep in mind that we have 800 students… our number one priority is that all children are safely paired up and dismissed with the correct adult or transportation mode.
  • If you did not pick up transportation tags, you must do this tomorrow. This is so that we know where your children should go at the end of the day. I have several students that this applies to.
  • It is important that during dismissal, cars respect the traffic flow and go to the correct pick-up area as was assigned by my office staff when picking up tags.
  • All back packs must have their designated transportation mode tag attached. Additionally, if you are picking up your child you must have the car tag as well. If not, you will be directed to come to the office to sign your child out.
  • Parents are able to walk students into school on the first day.  Parking will be an issue, so plan accordingly if this is something that you want to do.

Looking forward to a wonderful school year!

Stephanie Walker

 

 

Leave a Reply

