Here’s to an Exciting Start to the 2011-12 School Year:

I remember as a child finding it difficult to fall sleep the night before the first day of school.  There were so many things to wonder about… Will I find my classroom?  Will my teacher be nice? Will I be able to sit by my best friend? 

I anticipate that many of you will be experiencing the same feelings tonight.   No worries though, I am certain that tomorrow will bring lots of fun and excitement.    My secret is that I still get excited many years later during each new school year.  I can’t wait to see all of my amazing Amelia Tigers tomorrow morning! 

2nd Grade Mrs. Walker

Just a few pointers to help tomorrow run smoothly:

  • As I discussed at the transportation meetings, it is vital that parents listen and follow the directives of my staff during arrival and dismissal.  It is our goal to ensure that all students are safe.  I anticipate that it will take an extended period of time during the first week of school for dismissal and arrival.  Please be patient with all of us.  My staff, students and parents will get better with practice.
  • Arrival will begin at 8:45 AM.  Please do NOT drop your children off before this time.  Wait for my staff members to open car doors before letting your children out of the cars.  This is to ensure that everyone is safe.
  • If you did not pick up transportation tags, you must do this tomorrow.  This is so that we know where your children should go at the end of the day.  I have several students that this applies to. 
  • It is important that during dismissal, that car respect the traffic flow and go to the correct pick-up location (A-z & car pool: front of building and I-Z: back of the building)
  • All back packs must have their designated transportation mode tag attached.  Additionally, if you are picking up your child you must have the car tag as well.  If not, you will be directed to come to the office to sign your child out.

 Teachers will be creating and updating classroom blog sites.  We are attempting to reduce paper and feel that this is a great way to communicate with you.  Feel free to check teacher sites as listed on the left side of this site.  If you have any questions, feel free to contact me.

Looking forward to a wonderful school year!

Stephanie Walker

2 Responses

  1. After receiving a distressed call from my daughter today, I am compelled to comment on the apparent lack of appropriate communication between both parents and teachers during the morning drop off of students. As this is the first day for all and for many their first school experience, I was distressed to hear how negative, loud and angry the communications between all parties were reduced to…at the expense of already anxious children. Please find a better way as this week progresses. Confusion, chaos and disorganization does ont have to be made worse by inappropriate language and anger

    • Thank you for expressing your concern. I certainly can not be in all places at all times, but would like to discuss the issure that you are refering to. Feel free to contact me at 943-3800 so that I can address it appropriately.

Leave a Reply

